Case studies

Bridget

Ms Bridget Okoro, 39 years old, came to the UK in November 2015 with her partner and two children. As she had Italian Nationality she started employment immediately and worked until July 2015 .

Due to a relationship breakdown she was separated from her partner and along with it she faced new challenges regarding accommodation and personal finances. Her childcare commitments compelled her to stay with her young children at home. Bridget was desperate to find help as she now had no income at all and had nowhere to go.

We advised her to apply for permanent accommodation with various registered social landlords. Eventually, she moved in to a social housing flat and received furniture and other essentials via Scottish Welfare Fund grant. We assisted her to receive Income Support, Housing Benefit, Child Benefit, Child Tax Credit. Bridget’s Income Support decision wasinitially refused as DWP claimed that she had no right to reside as she was not a working. We successfully overturned this decision and disputed this on the basis of her work history and the educational needs of her children. The benefit was eventually awarded. Total benefit gain for Bridget in the year 2017/18 was £20,441.

 

Don’t know where I would turn to without you. It was so difficult and the Jobcentre experience has been frustrating. You helped me all the way. I know now how to manage my financial affairs. Now i can happily bring up my children.

Please indicate your consent to this site’s use of cookies

Some cookies are essential for our site to function. We also use cookies for functionality and for performance measurement.